Nobel Prize in Physics awarded for Higgs boson

Peter Higgs and Francois Engler

Nobel Week is taking place in Stockholm and Oslo these days. And today the new laureates of the Nobel Prize in physics have become known. They were Peter Higgs and Francois Engler, who predicted the existence of one very important particle - the Higgs boson, as it was later called.

Back in the 60s of the last century, Peter Higgs and François Engler came to the conclusion that there is a special particle that provides the mass of all other elementary particles. It was named after British physicist Peter Higgs. The existence of the Higgs boson was confirmed experimentally last year during the work of the Hadron Collider.

It is worth noting that Karl Hagen, Tom Kibble, Gerald Guralnick and Robert Braut also took part in the development of the theory of the existence of the Higgs boson, in addition to the Higgs and Engler himself. And its existence was confirmed by specialists from the European Center for Nuclear Research (CERN).

Last year, Serge Arosh and David Wineland received the Nobel Prize in Physics for their breakthrough technologies for manipulating quantum systems. To be more precise, they developed a way to determine the quantum state of individual particles without destroying them.